Languages mentioned in the constitution

Part 17 of the constitution deals with the official language in articles 343 to 351 .At present the 8th schedule of the constitution specifies 22 languages(originally 14 languages).These are Assamese, Bengal, Bodo, Dogri(Dongri), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili(maithili), Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Sindhi was added by the 21st amendment act of 1967.

Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali was added by 71st amendment act of 1992.

Bodo, Dongri, Maithili and Santhali was added by the 92nd amendment act of 2003.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s